Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have to admit that after a tumultuous week and having the worst feeling any parent could have – the feeling of losing your child – this past week was, well, non-suspenseful.

Not to say that non-suspense is a bad thing.  On the contrary, I’d rather have a worry free week where all the stars seemed to be aligned and the monotony of the weekday goes according to plan.

Both my children were accounted for and I have to share that my 7 year old has done a tremendous job in school with good behavior and passing his tests.  I couldn’t help but smile at him the other day when he brought home three tests that he had taken: spelling, vocabulary, and math – which all had a passing grade.  All I could think was “he has come a long way in such a short time.”  It seemed like yesterday that I was getting phone calls daily about his inappropriate behavior in and out of class, his inability to pay attention or listen to direction, his lack of academic excellence, and thoughts and perceptions that he was destined for failure.

What saddens me the most is when he remembers being in that environment, and worst of all, he remembers being bullied.  How could he show his fullest potential when there was zero incentive or recognition of appropriate behavior as well as the importance of excelling scholastically from his peers and educators?  Thankfully his current school in New Jersey has done a great job encouraging and supporting him when he has an off day.  There are clear rules set in place and he along with his friends are aware of the recognition they will receive when they follow the rules, as well as the consequences of breaking the rules.  There is a weekly mystery student chosen from each class who wins a prize for excellent behavior or showing improvement.  Monthly there is a student of the month chosen from each class as well.  More importantly, his teacher has created a monthly calendar for him which she places a star or an ‘x’ each day to display whether he had a good or not so good day.  If he can attain three or more stars per week, he knows that he can watch his favorite programs at home as well as added incentives!

“The past is the past” is all I can say to him when his eyes shift to the side and I notice him thinking about the horrors of his previous school and daycare.  I am so proud of all that he has accomplished and am in awe of what I know he will accomplish in the future.

I don’t think there is any parent out there who has never dared to ask their child that one important question: what do you want to be when you grow up?  A doctor?  A lawyer?  A teacher?  For my seven year old he doesn’t have to think too long nor does he have a secondary answer.  His first and only response for the past year has been – a WWE wrestler!  The first time he said this I laughed it off and waited for the day that this answer might change…

The response has yet to change; and thanks to the lovely World Wide Web sites such as YouTube and Google, my son is an encyclopedia of WWE superstars past and present, dating back to as early as wrestlers from 1980’s.  He knows that WWE shows twice a week and he understands that good behavior in school equates to watching his favorite wrestlers on television as well as “googling” them, which he enjoys just as much as watching them live.

And so I was left to ponder what to do with this bit of information: do I feebly attempt to persuade him to choose another profession or hobby, or do I embrace the sport in which he loves?  My husband being the creative mind that he is immediately solved that question for me.  Take a look at our latest ABC video aimed to support speech development for my youngest son.  Enjoy!

 

