Tags

, , , , , ,

Life is all about putting one foot in front of the other and taking things step by step.  This week I learned that things will unfold as they should and everything happens in due time.  As much as I want to rush through a project and hope that the end result will be an eloquent masterpiece, I know through experience that this is never the case.    

On Monday I found myself wanting to just be done with my novel (although I’d only written 5,000 words and typically a novel contains 80,000 words or more).  And the more I stressed about wanting to be done the more I found areas that needed expansion, clarity, and revision.  This only added to the stress and caused a major headache and breakdown.  That’s when self-doubt and pity began to slowly creep in; further perpetuating and causing the negative thoughts and questions buried deep in my mind to emerge.  The voice whispered “you have entirely too much on your plate.  How are you going to juggle your children’s productivity, school, writing a novel, writing a blog, and the desire to expand by writing other short stories and screenplays?” Not only was I dealing with that but my wonderful three year old son who struggles with autism has learned to unlock and open the front door.  He has become a flight risk! I have to admit Monday was not a good day.

I needed a coping mechanism and fast.  I needed to be inspired not just in my writing and scholastics, but also in my quest to uplift my children.  I purchased the recent issue of the Unique Homes magazine and marveled at the beautiful architecture of the ginormous (and might I say expensive) homes constructed all over the world.  For some strange reason viewing these opulent homes was calming and I acknowledge the art and precision of the photographer who was trying to sell the elegance of every home and portray the architect in a positive light. 

I also read a lot, switching between Linda Cowgill’s Secrets of Screenplay Structure (for class of course), Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind (already on chapter 7 which covers the first 30 minutes of the film for those who have seen it); and I dabbled into J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter: The Chamber of Secrets (the second book written in the saga).  I was lucky enough to view the films Chinatown and my new personal favorite The Quiz Show, two films that in my opinion set the standard for screenplay structure, character development, and just overall great story structure. 

I also found peace and fed off of the energy of those parents and organizations that were going above and beyond to push their autistic children to exceed expectations, have a “normal” future, and encourage people like me to see there is a bright light shining at the end of the tunnel for my son.  Thank you to the writers I have highlighted below and I hope you will find their stories inspiring just as I have. 

http://blog.autismspeaks.org/2011/07/14/moving-out/

http://blog.autismspeaks.org/2011/06/25/itow-chance-to-play/#comment-20634

See you next week: 7/ 22/11

